ECB and CA announce itinerary for next winter’s Ashes Test series in Australia

ECB and Cricket Australia today announced the itinerary for England’s Ashes Test series in Australia in 2013-2014.

The Gabba in Brisbane – the traditional venue for the opening match of Ashes Test series ‘Down Under’ – will again host the First Test Match with further Tests to follow in Adelaide, Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

As part of their preparations for the Test series, England will play three First Class Matches in the period leading up to the First Test with Western Australia set to host the first match of the tour in Perth on October 31st.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: “The historic sporting rivalry between these two countries ensures that there is always intense interest in this tour and all cricket fans will be looking forward to what promises to be one of the major highlights in next year’s sporting calendar.

“With England’s historic triumph in the 2010-11 Ashes series still fresh in the memory, we anticipate there will be significant travelling support for Alastair Cook’s team in Australia next winter and a tremendous atmosphere at each host venue.”

The Ashes Test series will be followed by five One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals between the two countries. The dates and venues for these matches will be announced in due course.

Further details regarding ticket availability and pricing for the Ashes Test Series in Australia will be announced by Cricket Australia next year.


England to Australia - Ashes Test Series Itinerary - 2013-14


25 Oct                                   England arrive Perth

31 Oct – 2 Nov                    3-day warm-up v WA XI                    WACA, Perth

6-9 Nov                                4-day warm-up v Australia A           Blundstone Arena, Hobart

13-16 Nov                            4-day warm-up v NSW XI                 SCG, Sydney

21-25 Nov                            1st Test                                                 Gabba, Brisbane

29-30 Nov                            2-day warm-up v Chairman’s XI      Manuka Oval, Canberra

5-9 Dec                                 2nd Test                                                Adelaide Oval

13-17 Dec                            3rd Test                                                 WACA, Perth

26-30 Dec                            4th Test                                                 MCG, Melbourne

3-7 Jan                                  5th Test                                                 SCG, Sydney


ECB and CA announce itinerary for next winter’s Ashes Test series in Australia